Nutrition Video

Subscribe to Nutrition Video feed
The Latest in Nutrition Research
Updated: 23 hours 29 min ago

The Best Poop Position for Constipation

Wed, 04/27/2022 - 06:50
The Squatty Potty is put to the test.

Ultra-Processed Junk Food Put to the Test

Mon, 04/25/2022 - 06:50
What happened when ultra-processed foods were matched for calories, sugar, fat, and fiber content in the first randomized controlled trial?

Flashback Friday: Are Apples the Best Food for a Better Sex Life in Women?

Fri, 04/22/2022 - 06:50
Addyi (flibanserin), the drug marketed for “hypoactive sexual desire disorder,” is ineffective and unsafe. What about dietary approaches for female sexual dysfunction?

How We Won the Fight to Ban Trans Fat

Wed, 04/20/2022 - 06:50
What was the secret to the public health community’s triumph when past attempts to regulate the food industry failed?

Do Healthy Fast-Food Options Lead to Healthier Choices?

Mon, 04/18/2022 - 06:50
Adding a healthy option can actually drive people to make even worse choices, thanks to a mind-blowing glitch of human psychology.

Flashback Friday: Dietary Supplements for Autism

Fri, 04/15/2022 - 06:50
Vitamin C, vitamin D, and omega-3 fish oil supplements put to the test to improve the core symptoms of autism spectrum disorder.

Blocking the Cancer Metastasis Enzyme MMP-9 with Beans and Chickpeas

Wed, 04/13/2022 - 06:50
Which legumes are best at inhibiting the matrix metalloproteinase enzymes that allow cancer to become invasive?

Pesticides (DDT) and Alzheimer’s Disease

Mon, 04/11/2022 - 06:50
How can we avoid the breakdown product of pesticides that may increase the risk of Alzheimer’s disease as much as if you carried APOE e4, the so-called Alzheimer’s gene?

Flashback Friday: The Gladiator Diet and the First Studies on Vegetarian Athletes

Fri, 04/08/2022 - 06:50
Comparing the diets of the Roman gladiator “barley men” and army troopers to the modern Spartans of today and meat-eating athletes are put to the test against veg athletes and even sedentary plant-eaters in feats of endurance.

How Much Cancer Does Processed Meat Cause?

Wed, 04/06/2022 - 06:50
I quantify the risks of colon and rectal cancers from eating bacon, ham, hot dogs, sausage, and lunch meat.

IARC: Processed Meat Like Bacon Causes Cancer

Mon, 04/04/2022 - 06:50
How did the meat industry, government, and cancer organizations respond to the confirmation that processed meat, like bacon, ham, hot dogs, and lunch meat, causes cancer?

Flashback Friday: Is Ginger Beneficial in a Diabetic Diet?

Fri, 04/01/2022 - 06:50
Ground ginger and ginger tea are put to the test for blood sugar control.

Should You Get Personalized Genetic Risk Testing?

Wed, 03/30/2022 - 06:50
Overrated “precision medicine” may just be serving vested interests, and consumer DNA testing can be useless—or even worse.

Do the Health Benefits of Peanut Butter Include Longevity?

Mon, 03/28/2022 - 06:50
Why are nuts associated with decreased mortality, but not peanut butter?

Flashback Friday: Benefit of Dates for Colon Health

Fri, 03/25/2022 - 06:50
Seven dates a day for three weeks are put to the test in a randomized controlled trial.

How to Boost FGF21 with Diet for Longevity

Wed, 03/23/2022 - 06:50
Fasting and exercise can boost the longevity hormone FGF21, but what can we eat—or avoid eating—to get similar effects?

Life Extension with FGF21

Mon, 03/21/2022 - 06:50
What can we do to boost the longevity hormone FGF21?

Flashback Friday: Sugar Industry Attempt to Manipulate the Science

Fri, 03/18/2022 - 06:50
How the food industry responds to “health food faddists.”

How to Keep Your Microbiome Healthy with Prebiotic Foods

Wed, 03/16/2022 - 06:50
We co-evolved a symbiosis with our good gut bacteria but are not holding up our end of the bargain.

Why Don’t People Eat Healthier?

Mon, 03/14/2022 - 06:50
The so-called optimism bias may get in the way of a healthy lifestyle.

Pages